About Us
Contact us
my capiz
featured projects
Capiceņo is TOYM Awardee PDF Print E-mail

Dr. Warren Baticados, a native of Pontevedra, Capiz, along with six others were conferred the award in ceremonies in Malacañang recently.

Baticados is an associate professor of veterinary medicine at the University of the Philippines – Los Baños (UPLB) in Laguna.
Over a radio interview, the veterinarian said becoming a TOYM awardee is not a walk in the park.

You have to "have faith in God [and] dedication to work and service to the public without expecting remuneration," he said.
Baticados has published 20 research papers on veterinary parasitology, microbiology and pathology in international scientific journals, and has written 10 others.

He has also done pioneering work on the molecular detection of organisms causing animal diseases. In 2011, the University of the Philippines System gave him the title UP Scientist I.

In the same year, the National Academy of Science and Technology recognized him as an Outstanding Young Scientist of the Philippines.

Leading the TOYM awardees for 2012 were GMA-7 reporter Rodrigo "Jiggy" Manicad Jr., a UPLB alumnus; the Philippine Azkals' vice captain Emelio "Chieffy" Caligdong; and international hip-hop artist Allan "apl.de.ap" Pineda. Other awardees were Diwa party-list Rep. Emmeline Aglipay, occupational therapist Abelardo Apollo David and heritage conservationist Ivan Anthony Henares.

There were 70 nominees for the 2012 search, but the tight criteria that the judges have set led to only seven awardees, said Larry Cruz, executive director of TOYM.

The awardees were selected based on service to the community or nation, professional excellence and integrity in the field, and leadership, including morality, innovativeness and pioneering spirit. Themed "Inspiring Excellence," the 2012 TOYM Awards recognized outstanding individuals for rendering service to others, exuding excellence, demonstrating leadership and showing greatness in their fields of endeavor.

A panel composed of past TOYM awardees — chaired by ABS-CBN news anchor Karen Davila, a 2008 awardee for broadcast journalism — screened nominations for the 2012 search. A distinguished board of judges led by the chairman, Supreme Court Associate Justice Arturo Brion, chose the seven winners.  Other judges were Dr. Agnes Mejia, Miguel Belmonte, Aurelio Montinola III, Bro. Ricardo Laguda, Angelico Salud and Dr. Raul Sunico.
Source: Felipe Celino/PN

< Prev   Next >
| Home | Contact us | Site Map | Disclaimer | FAQs | Login |
Copyright ©  2008 - Sacred Heart of Jesus Prime Holdings, Inc. All Rights Reserved.